Cutting the Saint Lawrence River in half, the Island of Montreal is Quebec's economic hub and where almost a quarter of the province's population lives. It is comprised of several municipalities, including the city of Montreal proper and many small towns. Decidedly multiethnic, the Island is home to over a hundred distinct cultural communities. The vast array of condos and houses ensures that most prospective homeowners are sure to find something to suit their needs.

The following is a guide to help you orient yourself amongst all the towns, boroughs and neighbourhoods that make up the Island of Montreal, including maps of these areas, a summary of their main characteristics, as well as links directing you to information on related and neighbouring sectors.

Towns, boroughs and neighbourhoods of note:

1.      City of Montréal

a.      Ahuntsic-Cartierville

                           a.i.     Ahuntsic

                          a.ii.     Cartierville

b.     Anjou

c.      Côte-des-Neiges–Notre-Dame-de-Grâce

                           c.i.     Côte-des-Neiges

c.i.1.                   Le Triangle

                          c.ii.     Notre-Dame-de-Grâce (NDG)

c.ii.1.                 Monkland

d.     Lachine

e.      LaSalle

f.       Plateau Mont-Royal (The Plateau)

                             f.i.     Mile-end

g.      Southwest

                           g.i.     -Côte-Saint-Paul

                          g.ii.     -Saint-Henri

                        g.iii.     -Little Burgundy

                        g.iv.     Griffintown

h.      Pointe-Saint-Charles

i.        Ville-Émard

j.       L'Île-Bizard–Sainte-Geneviève

                             j.i.     L'Île-Bizard

                           j.ii.     Sainte-Geneviève

k.     Mercier–Hochelaga-Maisonneuve

                           k.i.     Mercier

                         k.ii.     Hochelaga-Maisonneuve

                        k.iii.     Tétreaultville

l.        Montréal North

m.    Outremont

n.      Pierrefonds-Roxboro

                           n.i.     Pierrefonds

                          n.ii.     Roxboro

o.     Rivière-des-Prairies–Pointe-aux-Trembles

                           o.i.     Rivière-des-Prairies

                         o.ii.     Pointe-aux-Trembles

p.     -Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie

q.                 - Rosemont

q.i.1.                  Little Italy

r.       La-Petite-Patrie

s.      Saint-Laurent

t.       Saint-Léonard

u.      Verdun

v.      Nun's Island

w.    - Ville-Marie

                         w.i.     Latin Quarter

                        w.ii.     Peter McGill

                      w.iii.     Centre-Sud

w.iii.1.              Gay Village

                      w.iv.     Downtown

                       w.v.     Old Montreal

x.      Villeray–Saint-Michel–Parc-Extension

                           x.i.     Villeray

                          x.ii.     Saint-Michel

                        x.iii.     Parc-Extension

2.      Town of Mount Royal

3.      Westmount

4.      Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue

5.      Beaconsfield

6.      Côte-Saint-Luc

7.      Hampstead

8.      Kirkland

9.      Pointe-Claire

10.  Dollard-des-Ormeaux

Discover new condo projects in Montreal here.

Discover new houses in Montreal here.

See the boundaries of Montreal in Google Maps.